Thanks Thanks:  0

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Credits

universal studios & security

i've been a projectionist at the local theatre for the past two years (but i have 5 years experience) and this is the first time this has happened to me....

we did a sneek preview of the Rundown on saturday nite. about 15 minutes before the movie starts, i get a call from my general manager about a security person needs to see me.

then this guy dressed up in a black suit comes over and introduces himself. he is security representing universal studios. he then proceeds to ask me all these questions about recording a film and then has me fill out three pages of forms that basically say that i will not record the film,i will not allow anyone else to record the film and if i see anyone recording, i'll tell him.

and during the entire show, he walked up and down the aisles making sure no one else was recording the film...

now i could see security like this for Episode 3 or ROTK. but not the rundown. this movie was funny but it is not all that. i guess it is part of a publicity stunt to get more people to see what all the fuss is about...

has anyone else run into this (or something like this) before ? (i know universal are jerks when it comes to their trailers....)
    "I hate to advocate weird chemicals, alcohol, violence or insanity to anyone …
    but they've always worked for me,"

Hunter S.Thompson

Credits
    Most studios are doing this or something similar.
    They are really trying hard to crack-down on piracy.
    And it's for all movies... not just good ones.

Credits
    hey red bear i wanna get a job as a projectionist at my local theatre while i do a marketing degree.. what sort of training did you need to do ?

[My Top 20 Movies@Ymdb] - ([)(]) Dolby Digital the choice of ML's - [~My Place ~]

{Drag The Sunrise Down: You know the light can hypnotise, so shut it out and close your eyes - Rooster}

Credits